Approximately twenty-six flour-mills used to operate in the Solea region. This large number indicates the large production of cereals as well as the existence of the driving force, which was the water. This also explains the fact that all mills were built on the banks or influents of the river Klarios or Karkotis, which gave them the opportunity to use water as a driving force due to its constant flow.
The Mill of Styllis in Evrychou, in relation to the other existing Mills, presents a great distinctiveness both as a location as well as a building. It is built on a slope, a few metres away from the central road of the village. A small picturesque alley leads to it, at a rare in beauty green covered location.
This mill was built in 1878 by Hadjistyllis Hadjichristofi and originally operated as a flour-mill. In 1910, with the addition of new machineries, it began to process cotton. The flour mill was visited by villagers from all the villages of Cyprus who either came to grind or seed cotton.
The mill’s heir, Mr Christos Stylianides, renovated it in 1926 by replacing the wooden sack with a stone-made one of a height of 10 metres. When the rest of the area’s mills had been destroyed, the present owner, Mr Styllis Alexandrou added a second pair of mill-stones.
Up until a while ago, the Mill was operating for three time periods per year, contrary to the old years when it used to operate on a daily basis and even on Christmas, Easter and on the 15th of August. Today, because people prefer to buy ready made bread instead of grinding and kneading, the profession of the miller is about to be extinct.
The Mill is from time to time visited by tourists and locals. It constitutes a sign of our popular architecture and heritage and for this reason its maintenance is imperative since it is a unique in kind architectural building with a rich cultural heritage.
Study of Minas Nicolaou
Evrychou Community Council